HORIZONT3000 is in countries of the global South. We work in focus countries with financing programmes and our technical assistance programme.


Country offices

Never without our partner organisations on site. At HORIZONT3000, this is not merely empty rhetoric, but words to live by. HORIZONT3000 has established country offices in regions in which it carries out localised programmes and projects on a long-term basis. They help us stay close to our target groups and partner organisations, benefiting the people in East Africa, Central America, Mozambique, and Papua New Guinea.







Project support

The responsibilities of the country offices include planning, implementing, monitoring, and evaluating the respective portfolio, which can differ from region to region. In Central America and East Africa, this encompasses both financing projects and technical assistance. In Papua New Guinea and Mozambique, however, the portfolio has a clear focus on technical assistance only.

Technical Assistance Programme (TAP)

The country offices are the direct points of contact for partner organisations and technical advisors of HORIZONT3000 and are crucial in ensuring long-term high quality. The on-site staff is in direct contact with potential partner organisations and already involve the respective target groups in the planning phase. Their work also includes monitoring project assignments.


Engaging in constant dialogue with international stakeholders also is one of the most important tasks of the country offices. The staff stays in contact with local and international development agencies in the region and is in direct communication with the regional desks of the Austrian Development Agency (ADA). Moreover, they also provide services to the member organisations of HORIZONT3000.


Sectors and fields of action

HORIZONT3000 focuses on rural development and protection of natural resources, civil society and human rights and education. Within these sectors work is being developed on the topics of climate change, economic development and policy dialogue.

Rural Development - Natural Resource Management

The main focus of the work of HORIZONT3000 and its project partners is on making a contribution to the sustainable and ecological use of natural resources, spreading the usage of renewable energies, supporting measures for climate protection, contributing to the achievement of food sovereignty, and, as part of the definition of food sovereignty, maintaining a constant effort to support a slow and steady shift to organic (and sustainable) farming. In addition, activities that promote participative and self-sustaining methods for income generation, or saving & lending schemes are pursued.

The projects are located across the following regions and countries:

East Africa (Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Ethiopia, South Sudan), Central America (Nicaragua, Guatemala, El Salvador), Senegal, Brazil, Mozambique and Papua New Guinea.


The focus of HORIZONT3000 in that key sector is the development of capacities of stakeholders at vocational and university education level, and on other levels like management, administration and teaching staff, in order to increase the quality of education in particular for the rural and marginalized population. Quality of education in that context also means that it is participative and closely linked to local development needs.

Projects belonging to the sector education are serving the following countries:

South Sudan, Uganda, Kenia, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Western Balcan (Serbia, Macedonia, Albania, Montenegro, Slovakia)

Civil Society and Human Rights

In this sector, HORIZONT3000 contributes to defending the rights of vulnerable and marginalized groups like women, children/youth, indigenous people and disadvantaged rural population, and strengthens civil society organisations so that they can be actors for change towards more justice in their societies.

The projects are located across the following regions and countries:

Central America (Nicaragua, Guatemala, El Salvador), East Africa (Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda), Senegal, Mozambique, Brazil, Papua New Guinea

member organisations